Can unshelded wires/elecrical interferance cause UGS to disconnect from the longmill

I’m still really new to all this but I finally got up and running with my first project. Just a little way into my first cut UGS froze and disconnected. When I tried to reconnect I would get “serial port not found”. After closing and reopening/trying to connect multiple times I finally got back to work. This happened about 5 times, usually failing/disconnecting around the same point. I ran the same g code without cutting any wood a few times and it ran beginning to end with no issues. It was only when cutting a piece it would disconnect.

Anyway I got to looking around and found this thread:

About 3/4 of the way down someone suggests its a hardware issue, not to zip tie certain wires together and to try and shield electrical equipment. I also read in another thread static electricity from a shop vac hose might interfere.

I had my wires zip tied together so I separated them and I got through 1 piece without UGS disconnecting. It seemed like it might have worked or am I crazy? Has anyone else had this UGS disconnect issue?

@will You’re not crazy, Will. :slightly_smiling_face:

Do a search here using “UGS freezes” and you will find several posts discussing this and offering solutions.

I went through this a lot when I first started with my Mill. I haven’t had any type of freeze now, though, for months. I did many things, so unfortunately I can’t say which of them fixed the problem. The one exception to that was grounding my dust collection PVC pipe. I had been fine for a while, then changed my dust collection set up. Immediately after, I started getting freezes again. I grounded the system and all was well again.

Here is a list, as much as I can recall, of what I and others did to solve UGS freezes:

1. If you replaced the included USB cable with something longer, make sure that it has good noise filters/chokes on it.