Design broken ends on boards?

I’m trying to design a wall sign that would use a “broken end” look. Can this be done with my LongMill? I’ve Googles it but can’t seem to find any ideas. Does anyone have a design, plan or drawing? Thanks for any help!

@Neuder

Something simular to this?

If so I’m sure you can do it on the longmill but I don’t know how sorry. I’m just learning this myself. I’ve done stuff very simular with my angle grinder. Didn’t really take long. I would just start randomly bumping all around the edges til I got the depth I wanted and then soften up all the edges with a palm sander. Can’t really get out there and power carve anymore due to some stupid arthritis in my knees. That’s kind of why I got the longmill. I would like to learn how to achieve that look too

Yes, that is what I’m looking for, just would like to do it on the LongMill. Thanks!

@Neuder Welcome to the group, Louis. What are you using for CAD/CAM software?

Started with CC but just purchased Vectric Desktop.

@Neuder I have some ideas, Louis, and I’ll play with them later today. I know nothing about CC, but I have VCarve, so anything that I can (might?) come up with will work with Desktop. Back to you asap. In the meantime, I strongly recommend that you join the Vectric forum. There are guys there that have forgotten more about Vectric software than I will ever know. I suspect that they will come up with something in short order.

Edit: Louis: Take a look here and see if this will do what you want.

2 Likes

There are a couple of Vectric projects where carved edging is part of the project. This is one of the 12 days of Christmas projects from a couple of years ago. Check the video at the 5 minute mark and Todd talks about his scalloped edges: Merry Christmas Sign Scalloped Edges.