Laser Odd Behaviour

Hi Folks just getting my laser set up, and I seem to be having a couple of odd issues:

1. when I use the “test laser” function in gsender with the power set to 1% the laser still almost immediately starts burning the spoil board… This seems odd and a bit dangerous…

2. the laser seems to focus with the z axis about 1" higher than the focus aid would suggest…

This is just with the G7 lens thus far…

Thanks

Kerry

From what I have read that is normal. If you flip the dip switches to 1A max output, the test will operate at 1% of the 1A max value. If you have it set to 5A max, then you are supplying 1% of the 5A max value.

Thanks for the reply, I have the dip switches set to 4 so 1% would be 0.04A which does not seem like it should be enough to burn wood in 1 sec which it is doing but of course this is my first try with a laser so maybe I’m wrong … I was hoping to use this setting to get proper focus but it is difficult to do as it starts to burn immediately.

I use the G7 with dip switch 3 enabled (my goto setting for wood & tile). Usually put a piece of masking tape across center on a piece of scrap at the same height of the wood or tile I’m going to engrave. With GSender set it to 1% to focus which will burn the masking tape if left on too long. With Lightburn I can set the power down a bit lower. Then change out scrap for project, do an outline to ensure I’ve got it lined up correctly & hit go.

So Rusty do you mind sharing the rest of your line settings? With dip sw 4 enabled I’m not really doing much with 25mm/sec and 100% power set… I “think” my focus is good…

Thanks
Kerry

Sorry for response delay. summertime…