Seeking Mk2 48 x 30 information

I’d like to see images and videos about the Mk2 48x30, where may I find them?

1 Like

@yechiel Welcome to the group. I’ve moved your post to a new thread as I think it would get lost in a discussion about bit storage.

This video may give you a start on your search:

You’ll also find information in the blog of the extended Mk2 here:

Thank you so much, I’m happy to be here. I’m a beginner with CNC woodworking and I don’t really know if the 48x30 will serve me the same as a 30x30 would, but I’m interested in it because I’m more into furniture and having bigger machine can help in that I believe, Can you share your idea about that with me? Thank You!

@yechiel I imagine that bigger is always better. :grinning: I have the 30 x 30. That was the largest available when I bought mine and that was really the largest that I could squeeze in to my-already-crowded basement shop. So far, I’ve not needed any bigger. I have done some tiled projects to get projects larger than 30" in Y done, but I’ve not had any need for larger in X. If you are making furniture from sheet goods, I can see that being able to slide a sheet between the Y rails would be a big thing.

I’m sure that you will not regret your decision.

@gwilki Thank you very much I really appreciate your will to share with me your opinion, My concern is about rigidity and accuracy, One of the uses I want to do with the machine is inlays and that requires accuracy and reapetability, did you try this on your machine? will it work on the 48 wide machine? Thanks again.

2 Likes

@yechiel I’ve done several shallow inlays on coasters and box lids and two deep ones on cutting boards. I have the original 30 x 30 Mill. It is certainly rigid enough to handle doing these. Sienci says that the Mk2 is more rigid than mine, so I doubt that you will have any issues in that respect.