Need Help V Bits with Stars

I’m trying to V carve stars using universal GCode sender when I going to set xyz zero I see endmill dimensions don’t see where to switch it to V bits I have tried putting the v bits dimensions in were it says endmill. I’m using Carbide create to make my stars and when I Simulate they look great. Can you not use UGS to v carve I have tried everything I can think of but I’m new to all of this.

You can use UGS to V carve as it simply sends the Gcode that you create in Carbide Create to the controllers. UGS does not “know” the bit profile or the kind of toolpath that you created.

I’m assuming that when you say that UGS doesn’t let you switch to a V bit, you mean in the touch pad probe module. It’s not a good idea to use a V bit to find X and Y zero using the touch plate. The position will change depending on which part of the bit touches the X and Y axes sides of the plate. Chuck up a straight bit, enter its diameter into the field in the probe module and find X and Y 0. Then, chuck up your V bit and use it on the plate to find Z 0.

2 Likes

Thanks I tried what you are say and in still didn’t work I think I’m going to try a different software. Not have any trouble using endmills just v bits will let you know if the software works. Thanks for to info.

@ScottL Scott: When you say it didn’t work, what do you mean? What are the results compared to what you are trying to do? Also, when you talk of changing software, do you mean something other than UGS to send the code, or something other than Carbide Create to make the code?

With more info, I’d bet that someone here will be able to help you with this.

I’m trying to get my star to look like the do in this simulation they are coming out with just five straight lines I will try and find both pictures to send you Thanks again

From your picture, I am assuming the the “simulation” is generated by the game software, not CC or UGS, correct?