Newbie, like really new, help

Hi everyone, I hope this is the appropriate place to post this. I have always loved woodcraft. I do pyrography and marquetry by hand and love it but am interested in taking the next step as a hobbyist. I had a chinese laser cutter which I really enjoyed experimenting with but its at the point where I need to pour more money in it to make it work and I think a CNC machine would be a better investment for me. Someone recommended that I look at these machines as they are user friendly and have an active support community. I’m a nurse by profession, and a mother to a 1 year old, basically no woodworking skills. My question is how do I even get started in the CNC world? I’ve done research online but it’s so hard to find the beginning in a field that feels so vast. Does anyone have recommendations of resources that could start me off? I’d love to go to a makerspace and learn from someone in person but unfortunately the pandemic makes that impossible. I have a lot of covid exposure at work and pretty much isolate myself the rest of the time to keep everyone safe. I’d like to have the CNC machine to really get into something to make this long winter pass a little quicker.

Another question…does anyone have insight as to whether I should go ahead and purchase the machine so that I can experiment as I go or should I do a ton of research beforehand and then purchase? I’m definitely someone who learns by doing but I don’t want to make a mistake and purchase the wrong thing.

Thanks for any advice!

1 Like

@ahliv Welcome to the club, Olivia. You will find lots to learn from here.