Using my own art and carvings

I am an artist and have so many ideas floating around in my head for making rustic home decor and signs. I have several ideas for candle wall sconces, I hope to pull it off with the LongMill. I also have some carvings that need scanned. I like to use my own designs to make my items unique.

2 Likes

Do you do your art digitally or on physical medium? There are a couple ways to get your art into the computer to cut. I’ve tried doing the converting images to SVG’s in inkscape, and it works ok, but I really need to learn how to draw on the computer.

Luckily I am slightly ok at fusion 360. Just need to learn the cam side.

Looking forward to seeing what you create!

I do my sign designs with MS Publisher. I hand carve different animals for the signs, I scroll the designs, route where needed, the use my dremel to carve in the details. It is very time consuming. I am going to have my hand craved items scanned by a professional then use the digital files for my CNC eliminating all the hand carving and saving me hours of work. I have 100s of photos on my computer to use and with Vcarve it makes it easy to incorporate vectors into a job. I just have to get experience doing it. I am learning a whole new skill set.

Here is a link to my website so you can view my work. http://www.cortese-creations.com

3 Likes

Hi kcortese
Just looked at your website. Very cool. Do you make a living doing this artwork or is it primarily a hobby?
A CNC is going to open you up to a whole new world. I see you do mostly more rustic pieces. Have you considered more modern pieces? Like graphic artist would do? I think it could expand your customer base.
One thing that will be very easy to do with a CNC is inlay work. You could use a variety of materials like wood, plastic and soft metals like aluminum, brass and copper.