Been Lurking and reading, but....... I would like to see one in person

Hey all,
I came here almost a year ago and have been reading and researching. I have a bunch of things I really want to make with a CNC router. There are so MANY things to do with them!

Anyway, I have a history of getting into things and being really interested for a while then moving on. That being said, I have worked in the same field for the last 22 years, 5 with the latest employer and 17 with another one. I had a lot of jobs prior to that. Unfortunately, I am not in TECH.

I have worked with machines in the past: I was a skilled machinist (Manual only), welder, brazer, sheet metal worker, and iron worker.  Oh, and military.  Machines don't scare me or intimidate me, but I am having some problems convincing my wife that money spent on a CNC router will not be poorly spent.

I live in Northern Ohio, Lorain County, to be specific.   We have a FAB LAB at our local Community College, which is free for residents to use.   The problem is the equipment they have is not really useful to me.  They have 8 or ten 3D  Printers, but most of them are at. end of life cycle and are inoperable.  They have a couple of lasers, and apparently those are busy almost all the time.  They have at least 1 plot cutter type of thing, similar to a cricut but heavier duty.    There is a 4'x8' CNC router, but they primarily use that for sheet goods and have a prohibition against using small/fine bits in it.    There is a portable cart that has a benchtop or desktop sized SHOPBOT in it, but from what I gather, that is pretty reserved for traveling to sites and giving demonstrations, not for actual "use" in the space.