Brand New to CNC, need some help with pocket milling and cutting out letters

Please excuse my ignorance in the topic, I am brand new to this hobby. I have been searching high and low for hours and hours. I always try to figure out issues on my own, but I am lost.

I don’t even have my Longmill yet, but want to learn first.

I am trying to make something pretty simple. I want to cut out a name, and have a pocket milled into the letter to give it a stroke look.

I have been looking at Inkscape, but cant figure out how to have multiple depths in the cuts.

I understand that I will probably have to change the bit, but is there a way to have the machine cut out the pocket first with one bit, then pause for bit change, and then cut all the way through the material with second bit?

I hope that I am explaining myself. If anyone has any resources that they can point me in the correct direction. I may just be using the wrong nominclature.

Thank you very much.

1 Like

@AndyBlue Welcome to the club, andyblue. Can you explain a bit more, or better yet, post a pic of what you are trying to do?

Also, unless I am mistaken (a frequent occurrence), Inkscape is only a CAD program. What do you plan to use as a CAM program to generate your toolpaths?

1 Like

After I posted this. I realized that I was missing exactly what you are talking about, to create the tool paths. I finally found Carbide Create. I was able to get what I wanted to do created already. I am experienced in computers along with graphic design (Illustrator), but my little knowledge of CNC is what stalled my progress. I also realize that I will need to do multiple sends of gcode to the machine. Which is fine. My design will need 2 toolpasses.

Thank you very much for taking the time to try to help me, I greatly appreciate it!

Can I ask what software you are using?

1 Like

@AndyBlue I’m spoiled as I have access to the shop’s VCarvePro. I use UGS as the gcode sender.