Custom cover for Longmill MK2 30x48

I’d like to introduce Charles to our community. He recently setup an MK2 30x48 at home and built an enclosure for it. He took notes and pics along his journey and wanted to share it with us all.

Thanks Charles!

I’m a CNC hobbyist, with a professional background in 3D printing, materials science, and entrepreneurship. Currently, I am the Business Development Manager at Sienci Labs, and my responsibilities cover making sure the behind-the-scenes of the business run as smoothly as possible.

My house is fairly small, so my LongMill is in my basement, and the general space is shared for other activities. Dust is a big concern, because of the general mess if it gets all over the place, and more importantly, it’s just not good to breathe. I knew I was going to need some kind of cover, so I started by looking over photos of how other people made theirs to get some ideas. I also read a bit how heat can build up for long jobs and this can damage the router, so reducing the noise while allowing heat to escape seemed to be a balancing act for the design.

My LongMill is installed on a 4’x8’ MDF spoil board cut down to 4’x6’, which is bolted on top of a sturdy 3’x6’ workbench. I mounted my LongBoard on a piece of plywood fastened to the wall behind and to the side of the LongMill. (I had to make custom extensions for a couple of the cables to make this work.)

I’ll be upfront and say I’m not a very good designer. I have lots of ideas for stuff, and my design methodology usually boils down to a single page of a sketch or two and some measurement notes before I dive into the project. I often find myself making corrections during the build process, but most of the time I end up with a result I’m satisfied with. There have been a few times where this method has failed badly, but I learn new things when this happens and laugh about it later.

Some of my design considerations for this cover were: