Fire breathing dragon

This is my first attempt at creating a model using AI. I followed instructions set out by Kyle at LearnYourCNC.

I carved this in foam and sprayed it grey. There remains a steep learning curve so that I can get better results from the AI, but I’m happy enough with this as my first attempt.

7 Likes

You’ll have to go more into detail here.

Really cool!

1 Like

Fantastic! We definitely need more detail - so far I have played a bit with using AI to generate images for the laser, but nothing for 3D - would love to know how you’re doing it.

1 Like

@NeilFerreri @elbarsal I’ll do my best over the next couple of days to write something up. I really just followed some online directions.

5 Likes

Super, looking forward to it.

1 Like

@NeilFerreri @elbarsal Here is the process that I followed to create the model.

A couple of points;

1. The prompt is key. Just keep adding conditions until you get the results you are looking for

2. You need a graphics program of some sort to invert the height map.

3. I use VCarvePro. I am assuming other CAD/CAM applications can do something similar, but I have no experience with them.

All that said, here is what I did

1. Open http://copilot.microsoft.com. This is a free application, but you need a free Microsoft account.

2. Enter your prompt. For the dragon, I used:
    “A greyscale image of a fire breathing dragon with the highest possible contrast, representing a relief model for CNC routing. The image must feature extremely balanced lighting to make details visible across the model, with very clear, sharp contours and textures.”

The prompt is the key. Just keep playing until you get results that you like.

1. You will be given 4 choices. Choose one and download it.

2. Open Marigold Depth Estimation - a Hugging Face Space by toshas. This is going to convert the image to a greyscale height map.

3. Import your image and click to convert. Save the first choice – 16bit. This will be a .png file.