First carve, first casualty

Yup, said I was a newb, here’s the proof.

The big mistake was leaving the router at max speed as it was shipped. I feel the high RPM add greatly to vibration, and loosening of the bit. Turning it down from 6 to 2 made everything nicer.

In the future I will really torque down the collet. Anyone have thoughts on the $37 Makita 192987-1 1/8" Collet versus the 1/8" - 1/4" sleeve I bought from Siensi? Maybe the dedicated collet holds the bits better?

Thanks.

-Mike
1 Like

Mike, “speed” is not as simple as just turning it down. You’ll have to do some research to get up to “speed” on speeds and feeds; how fast the bit is moving around the cut vs. the rotational speed of the router bit. Its important and basic.

Also, treat yourself to a DOWN CUT router bit. You’ll be pleased at how little finishing time you’ll spend.

1 Like

@CrookedWoodTex thanks for the reply.

I certainly understand the difference between the speed the router moves in the X, Y and Z dimensions versus the speed at which the bit is rotating. I did not touch the former, allowing for all defaults, which it seems are conservative. It would be good if the software could also control the router’s RPMs, but since the switch is physical (on the recommended Makita router), I guess that’s not possible.

With regards to upcut vs. downcut bits, I chose the former to have clean bottoms on the letters. The messy tops can be sanded. Is that not correct?

-Mike M

@mike99mac Mike: I would suggest that you move away from the 1/4 to 1/8 adapter and get this collet:

It means one fewer point of failure and likely less possible run out.

I can’t agree that your bit loosened because you ran the Makita at top speed. It was more likely that the collet was not tight, or even that the adapter was in upside down. Many here run the Makita at top speed more often than not with no bit loss.