How can I carve this out

Hi All,

I am a total newbie to CNC world and somehow one of my first projects became a bit complicated (for me).
Anyone could point me to the right direction here? How can I carve this out (On wood)? Should I convert it to 3D and 3D relief it? I feel like there should be a neater way using V big and carving it easiser/nicer.

I just want to do one side of it, any help is appreciated

I have a onefinity CNC if that matters with a 2.2 kw spindle

@moosa Welcome to the group, Moosa.

What CAD/CAM software are you using? What format is that model in?

I have made that in sketch up and was planning to move it to Carvco Maker for my CNC.

@moosa I’ve moved your post to the Carveco category so that those members using Carveco will more easily find it. I’ve never used Carveco, so will watch along with you to see how to accomplish this.

Hello Moosa! I don’t use Carveco or SketchUp but your post made me wonder how I would go about making that with a v-bit.

I think that my approach to solving it is probably more important than the actual software used so I will share my take on this done with Vectric and OpenSCAD.

So your model appears to be made from a center point with a circle of 24 points around it that alternate between some +Z and -Z, up and down around the circle.

I set my material up to be a 100mm x 100mm x 19mm thick and started with a 100mm diameter circle split into 12 sections because a v-bit will create 2 sides and we need 24 sides.

I then isolated one piece of the pie and made it into a closed vector.

I used the rotate copy function to make 12 total copies rotated around the center point. This of course looks exactly like the first image but is made from 12 closed vectors, each of the center lines has a copy that is part of the next piece of pie.