Jatoba Elephant Puzzle

Hello,

Here is a project I have done with 3/4" Jatoba wood (Brazilian cherry).

It is a design from Etsy for an Elephant Puzzle made out of Elephant pieces.

It was advertised to be a Laser project, had to modify the design a “bit” :slight_smile: to be CNC & 1/8" bit friendly.

The details were made with a V60 bit.

I manually sanded for HOURS…

The finish is one coat of “Walrus Cutting Board Oil” followed by a Rub of the “Walrus Cutting Board Wax” it made the wood pop and it was so soft to the touch.

You can have fun with the Pieces, or with the assembled Elephant, or you can let it sleep in its Baltic Birch bed (Finished with the same products).

Will be a gift for this weekend Party…

NJ

7 Likes

I LOVE IT!! :grinning:

Well done, Nicolas. The child getting this will be very happy.

Thanks for posting.

Just a question. Why did it require so much sanding?

@webbit_NJ or anyone

I love it, thanks for sharing. I’m still learning my cnc and wondering what did you do to modify it?

I have a project coming up where I now think I may need to adjust my design. My trial and error can severely suck sometimes.

@Swinly Since you asked “or anyone”, I’ll reply generally. I’m sure that Nicolas will reply specifically to what he did. I’ve done several jigsaw puzzles now and, it they start out as a laser project, you need to modify them to take into account the kerf of your router bit. Otherwise the pieces will be sloppy.

1 Like

okay, thanks. That’s what I was thinking but was unsure. I didn’t even think about that in my design until I read this thread

@Swinly I found it to be a bit of trial and error, too. I had to play with offsets in VCP so that the pieces would fit snugly, but not so tight that they broke pounding them together. The amount of offset varies with the thickness of the material, in my experience.

Hello!
Here is some steps i had to do…