Safe and efficient movement after repetitive cuts

I have been doing cuts on work pieces where I have to do the cut, replace the work piece and repeat.

After each cut I wanted to move the router out of the way so I could switch pieces easily. I started out doing it manually using the UGS jogger but found that to be risky (because I’m clumsy sometimes). If I moved the machine too far in any direction and jammed the carriage it would throw off the settings causing me to have to re-zero everything.

Talking to Andy last week, he suggested that I put in a line at the end of the g-code that would move the router to a known safe position. Well, being an old programmer I saw that this was a great solution, one that I should have thought of myself. Doh.

What I do now is determine where I want the machine to rest at the end of the cut and what is a safe path to get there. I then add or replace the line at the end of the g-code that returns the cutter to zero.

For example, in one instance my zero point is bottom left. I use Vcarve Desktop and it sets the final spot to be about 20 mm above the zero point using two separate commands: “G0Z20.32” and “G0.000X0Y0.000”. Be careful here, other CAM apps like Carbide Create might go back to Z0 also so you probably do not want to drag the cutter across your work piece at that height.

I figured that the best resting point after this particular cut would be 110 mm up the Y axis and 110 mm to the right on the X axis. This position is both out of the way and also has a clear path from the end of the cut and to the zero start point for the next cut.

Using my trusty UltraEdit I changed the “G0X0.000Y0.000” at the end to “G0X110Y110”.

Now when the cut is done, I have room to safely replace the work piece and then hit start again to do the next cut. This also has the added benefit of speeding up the process in general.