Someone school me on Fusion vs Onshape

So, I have Fusion 360 for hobbyists. I’m a very novice user. I need to be able to make the most out of my longmill’s size so I really need to get better with these larger scale CAM programs. Historically I have used Vcarve desktop which limits me to 24".

Is Onshape any more user friendly or feature filled than Fusion? I figure if I am going to make a change, I should probably do it before I put a ton of time into getting good with Fusion.

Hi @CncJim! How familiar are you with Fusion so far? I have pretty well made it my go-to for both CNC designs and 3D printing designs - there is pretty much nothing I need to do that it can’t do.

I have only limited experience with OnShape - basically viewing and exporting existing designs. I know Fusion can be really frustrating at times, but it has become the devil I know. Understanding the relationship between components, sketches, and bodies, as well as the timeline, were keys to finally being useful with it for me.

I guess I’m not super helpful here, except to say that if I had to guess, both packages have their quirks and learning curves, and both seem quite capable. Hopefully others can chime in as well.

1 Like

Thus far I’ve made a few bodies and manipulated some aspects of them but frequently figured out that something I did or didn’t constrain (an area I still don’t completely understand) early on stopped me from further refining it later on. I haven’t had a lot if experience running code from it and the hobby version limits my ability to simulate toolpaths. I’m curious if Onshape, which I understand is very much like Fusion in its UI, supports some of those functions that allow the user to see potential problems in machining.