Speeds and Feeds PDF - Softwood vs Hardwood

I just downloaded the latest PDF for both the Imperial and Metric versions of the Speeds and Feeds.

Since I am a newbie and have only been cutting MDF it hasn’t been an issue. But not as I adventure into cutting hardwood I did more research.

I would have expected the speeds and feeds for MDF vs Hardwood be substantially different.

However, in the PDF they are not.

For example: 1/4" EM 2F UC Regular Speed

Softwood:

• Feed: 86
  • Plunge: 43
  • Stepover: 0.11
  • Stepdown Slot: 0.16
  • Stepdown Pocket: 0.36
  • Speed: 12000

Hardwood:

• Feed: 86
  • Plunge: 43
  • Stepover: 0.07
  • Stepdown Slot: 0.17
  • Stepdown Pocket: 0.36
  • Speed: 12000

Am I off base here, or should there be more of a difference?

Thank you,

Roland

1 Like