Touch Plate Not Finding Correct Zero Position

Hello,

This is my first attempt at using the touch plate and it seems I must have messed up somewhere.

Video: Touch Probe issues

If you don’t want to watch the video, the issue is that when I remove the probe and hit “Return to Zero,” the bit is level with the Z and Y axis, but overshoots the piece on the X axis by 10mm or so.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

TnT, it sounds like you may have one of the offsets in the probe setup entered incorrectly. Check them against this chart Andy or Chris published. And make sure you have the Z probe distance/direction entered as negative.

I also noticed several times that UGS ignored me the first time I ran the probe after powering up, but remembered after that.

1 Like

I appreciate the quick response, but as I mentioned and shown in the video, I have all of the correct numbers. I’ll try it again today and see what happens

TnT, I know this was 15 days ago but did you solve your problem? If not what is your bit diameter set at under settings? That will affect positioning.

I think that the distance and offset values are swapped in the XY settings in the picture BillKorn provided above.

1 Like

You’re right, Paul.

Bill: In the first chart, where you are highlighting the xyz settings, you show both the x and y “distance” as 25, which is correct. However, in your second chart, where you show only the x and y settings, the x and y “distance” are shown as 10.

This is the chart that either Andy or Chris published for setting up the touch probe. I went through each tab and set them up as the chart shows and they all work correctly, both for individual axes and combinations. I do find that sometimes the first time I use the probe after starting UGS the router moves to the wrong place, but after the first time it works correctly. I write this off as a UGS foible, not a settings issue.