Y-axis not moving at same rate

Hi all!
Newbie here. Finally assembled my 30x30 MK2 but am having problems with my y-axis. The one on the left seems to get stuck at a certain point as it nears the front. See video.
Here’s what I’ve tried/checked so far. What am I missing?

• jogged it all the way to the back to “reset” it and moved it forward. Still happens.
  • tensioned and retentioned V-wheels on both axis. Can turn the v-wheel by hand but it’s difficult.
  • can turn both y lead screws by hand. These are fairly easy to turn but both seem to have about the same resistance.
  • mounted on 3/4” MDF on a solid table. Everything is perfectly square. The two Y-axis are parallel. Front dimension between metal feet 890mm. Back dimension between metal feet 890mm
  • dip switches in control box seem to be ok. All set to on-off-on-off (1-2-3-4).

What’s missing?
Video: MK2 movement. - YouTube

1 Like

@DaveU Hey Dave, welcome to the forum. You are a few weeks ahead of me (still waiting). I am sure somewhere will chime in. If you figure out the solution on your own, please post the solution for other new people can learn too. Again, welcome!
Jake

@DaveU I’ll second Jake’s welcome, Dave. :grinning:

I can’t see in the video. Do you have limit switches installed?

No limit switches installed.

@DaveU A couple of things to try:

Back off the anti-backlash nuts, then snug them only enough to take out the slop.

Loosen the bolts holding the anti-backlash nuts to the gantries, run the Mill front to back, then re-tighten.

If you have not already run the calibration program in gSender, try it. I know that you said that your Mill is perfectly square, but it can’t hurt to confirm.

I’ve completed the instructions and the problem persists.
I thought the calibration program had to be run from the front-left and wasn’t able to do it because of the problem I’m having (the left y gantry can’t reach the front…misses it by about an inch).