Z axis plunges to workpiece bottom on startup

Hey Folks, I’m having an issue where as I hit play in UGS, the Z axis plunges to the full depth of the model, 50ish mm in this case, then tries to rapid over to the start point, then retracts, then plunges again, then retracts, and finally starts the actual adaptive toolpath and helixes down into the piece.

I’m using fusion 360, the simulation doesn’t show this, happening, nor does UGS, until you hit play, then you see the yellow cone plunge and move towards the starting position. This has happened on all my jobs I’ve attempted, and I’m brand new to this so hopefully it’s something obvious to a more experienced user. I’ve attached a slighlty simplified version of the gcode which produces the same result.
Thanks in advance, and sorry this is my first post so let me know what other info I should include.

adapt.nc (480.7 KB)

I took a brief look at your G-code using https://ncviewer.com/. The first thing it does is move the Z axis to 0 (Z0 command). Then it moves to where it’s going to start carving and moves the Z axis to 15 above the work surface (Z15). This seems like the safe retract height, but I don’t know why it happens after the move. Then it moves back down and begins carving.
So, first question. Did you set the zero axis 0 point at the top of the work surface and how did you do it? If you set it correctly the bit should have stopped at the surface of the work piece when it did the first plunge, probably still not a good thing, but better than plunging through.
Maybe you set your reference wrong in Fusion? You can set it to the top of the work piece surface or to the bottom. Maybe you set it to the bottom?