Z Axis under the table?

Ok im new to all of this so i hope this makes some sense… and I appreciate any help in advance.

Ive been trying to cut out an outer permiter of what will be a hold down mount for guitar bodies. However every time i run the gcode the bit just plundges deep into the waste board.

Upon further inspection it appears that the the cuts are under my wasteboard and its trying to cut the path there instead of the workpiece itself. Is there a way to move the cuts on top of the z axis instead of under?

Hello @Marcus and welcome to the group.

What type/brand is your machine?

What programs are using to create and run the G-Code.

I can think a couple of things that could cause this.

• Not setting the Zero positions on the machine the same way as they were set in the design program.
  • Using the wrong post-processor in the design program which could give you bad G-Code.

What machine do you have?
What software are you using for design?
What software are you using to send the G-Code to the machine?
How are you setting the zero’s, touch probe, paper method?

EDIT: I guess I asked the same questions twice, short term memory problem maybe? :rofl:

1 Like

Sorry for the lack of info.

30x48 Longmill .
Fusion360 for CAD/CAM.
Gsender for the Gcode.
Zeroed on the Sienci new auto zero touch plate.

Initially I thought it was because I had created it under the guitar body itself which would be under the the axis like its showing in Gsender. However I moved it up in fusion and redid the CAM side to no avail. Tried moving the sketches up with it and still the Gcode shows up under my wasteboard in Gsender. I even ripped the sketches off the initial workspace in fusion and copied them on a the correct plane in a new workspace re-extruded everything and redid the Gcode again and it still shows that the cuts are in my wasteboard and not the workpiece. Im at a complete loss at this point with it.