Auto Zero Touch Plate and Z Height

Hi, everyone.

I’m tagging @_Michael and @NeilFerreri, and @gwilki because, well, frankly, I’m a total newb both to this forum and CNC in general. @_Michael has given me excellent guidance in the past, and now I’m back for more.

Here’s the issue I’m having: Recently, I’ve noticed that when I use the Auto Zero Touch Plate it is deadly accurate (in terms of outcome) on the XY. But whenever I run the probe, the Z ends up about a millimeter above the surface of the blank. Is this some kind of offset thing? I’ve been doing a lot of “test dummy” carves lately, in advance of actually figuring out what the heck I’m doing, and I’m missing something in terms of the logic of the Z height. I understand the concept of a retract height for rapids, but I don’t know why the Auto Zero Touch Plate is giving me that Z position when I probe.

Any insights?

PS, I’m using Rhino 7 for the 3D modeling and MeshCAM for the CAM stuff and gSender for the g-code.

I don’t have an Auto Zero Touch Plate, but I believe when the probing sequence is done it intentionally moves to X0 Y0 Z1. You wouldn’t want it going to Z0 and potentially touching the surface of your stock.

Reference.

2 Likes

Yeah, that makes sense, and I didn’t have problems with it before I noticed it and started monkeying around with it. For example, on my latest “test dummy” bass body carve, I used the probe to get the XYZ and didn’t monkey with the Z height at all, and the neck and pickup pockets were dead on.