Engraving on whiskey barrel staves

Hi everyone, so im really new to this cnc world . only had this longmill a couple months, lots to learn.
i do lots of work with whiskey barrels, started engraving the heads of them, so thats going reasonable!:slight_smile:
i have the vcarve desktop, and was wanting to try engraving the barrel staves. they are a challenge because of the curvature ( in every direction) abd no two are really the same.
anyway i did a mock up in the moulding area to represent the curve( or closeā€¦maybe!), so when i go to engrave i dont want to use a vbit, just cause nothing is perfect and will look horrible , so wanted to just use an end mill and if theres depth differences it may not be bad? but i need to let the toolpath follow the 3d moulding( like vcarve allows), but using the endmill bits seems to be layering like a vcarve does. i just want clean lines all at one set depth, like quick engrave allows.
well after this long, long message, any suggestions would be appreciated!:slight_smile:

Iā€™m a bit confused here, are you talking about the moulding toolpath on the right side or the 3d modeling tab on the left side of vcarve. I ask because if itā€™s a 3d model you can check ā€œProject toolpath onto 3D modelā€ on some toolpaths. If the shape you created is close enough to the real shape a vcarve could look good.

The other thing I just thought of is to set the tool pass depth to greater than cut depth so it only does one pass with the end mill.

Hi Micheal, thanks for the responseā€¦i guess i should proof read my post:) yes i meant i tried to replicate the staves in the modeling tab( on left), first problem with these staves is the curvature isnt perfect from the center down to the edge, so there is possibly some high or low spots that this model wouldnt be 100 percent accurate.