Feed rate and cut depth

I’m looking at carving a sign using a 30° V bit. Going into hard maple. Using Easel. Starting with the 1/4" on a rough pass. 30 minutes for that. Then a 30° V for the detailed pass. That’s showing 7 hours. I’m wondering what a safe and reliable speed would be to shorten that time. This is what I’m trying to carve. New to this and my longmill so any help would be great.

Why use a 30 V-bit? Are you using that in a profile toolpath or something else?

How thick is your hard maple?

Maple is 14" x 10 " x .635 thick. And im fairly new to this so bit selection is an area I’m learning. What would you recommend.

Recommendations will require a better idea on what you are going to cut into that wood.

Are you going to cut an outline of the drawing or pocket areas? Will you be painting some parts of it? Will you pocket around the trees so they become raised objects?

Lots of details will help.

I will be cutting a pocket for all those areas and then painting black. A silhouette of the trees and mountain basically. No raised areas.

@Davek If I understand your reply to Tex, you will pocket out all the black areas. The piece is 10" x 14", yes? Generally, V-bits do not leave smooth surfaces on the bottoms of pockets. I don’t use Easel but if you can preview your projects, I would try one with a 1/8" down cut mill and one with a 1/16" mill. Set the depth of cut to no more than 1/8". You can try using a 1/4" to hog out the larger parts of the trees, but I don’t really think that you will gain anything by not going straight to the 1/8".

All that said, if you want to mask the piece before carving to make the painting simple, you could use a 30° v bit to cut an outline of all the areas that you want to pocket. You would be using the 30° bit only to cut the masking material.

If you have the artwork in a dxf or other vector format, I can play a bit in VCP if you like.