I am an absolute beginner to CNC

Hi everyone.

I have been creating fine art, rustic home decor, and custom signs for 10 years. I have been creating my custom signs with MS Publisher and transfer the design onto the wood with graphite transfer paper. I then taking the design out to my workshop and route it by hand with a plunge router. This method is very time consuming and there are times when the router would jump, or bump causing irregularities in the design.

I have been wanting a CNC machine for several years so my work looks nice and clean.

I purchased the LongMill in December and it should be delivered some time in March. This gives me time to learn CAD/CAM before my machine gets here.

I have been watching beginner CAD videos on YouTube.

WOW!!! I have a lot to learn!!

I have downloaded several trial versions CAD programs to try and decided on VcarvePro. I am now getting comfortable with the software and should have plenty of jobs set up to run.

My next step is to learn how to set up and run my machine as an absolute beginner.

When I 1st start learning a new skill set, I get overwhelmed in the beginning but I keep at it every day.

I already have a wood shop set up and need to do some rearranging for my CNC table. I have 3 months to do so and will be ready.

4 Likes

Like you, K, I have a full wood shop in my basement, but am a beginner to CNC.

I received my LongMill a few weeks ago and I am playing with rigid foam as the medium until I have the confidence to proceed with wood.

Since you are going to use vcarvepro, I suggest you look on Youtube for Mark Lindsay. He has a series on vcarve for absolute beginners, which is very good.

Yes, I am watching his series. I am on #8 absolute beginner training video with him. He is a good teacher. There are some training videos on the Vcarve site, but they move too fast for me.