I am brand new to CNC need guidance please

Can someone direct me to where to begin and a sequence of the steps to learning CNC. I have my 30x48 Longmill set up seems to be working fine. I need to make a spoil board yet. I don’t have any bits I plan on using this for acrylic mostly to begin with. I prefer videos helps me a lot I believe. Thank You

@jkjfenlee Welcome to the group, Jeff.

I’m sure that there will be a lot of advice offered.

You can help by giving a bit more information.

For example:

1. Do you have any CAD/CAM software yet? If so, what is it? If not, do you have plans to buy a program or do you want to stick with free applications?

2. What are you using to “talk” to the Long Mill? That is, what OS are you running? Windows, Mac, Pi?

3. Do you plan to use gSender as your code sender or another application?

4. You say that you will work primarily in acrylic. What sort of projects do you anticipate doing? Will this be a business for you, or a hobby"

5. Peripherally, what do you have or plan to have for dust collection?

There are countless excellent Youtube videos that may be helpful. However, without knowing more about your intentions, it really is not possible to point you to relevant ones.

3 Likes

I am planning on using InkScape software. I dont know if that will talk to the Long Mill.
I am not sure what I need for it to talk. I am hoping free software will be good enough?
I have both Mac and PC, I bought a PC just for the long Mill.
I can use G sender if it is easy enough to use unless there is more user-friendly programs?
I would like to make the work with acrylic to be a small business.
I did buy the add on dust collector for a shop vac.

Here is a youtube of a spoil Board made by Garrett Fromme. You would have to modify it for a 30x48 but it gives you a place to start.
One of the things I did to learn was

1. come here for information. Check out feeds and speed.