LED Shop Lighting - RF Interference?

Hey all!

Hopefully a quick question for those with hands-on experience. We are awaiting the delivery of the MK2 48 x 30, I have the bench all built and have run the 6" overhead dust collector duct.

Our shop lighting is in need of replacing and we’re seriously considering LED throughout the shop. In my past life I worked in the controls and automation industry and there were always concerns on LV control cables (i.e. steppers) that have non-shielded wiring and any RF interference from sources such as lighting or power cables running adjacent to unshielded cables.

So, for any of you that HAVE LED shop lights and are running a MK2 could you let me know if you noticed any issues with RF? We were just looking at the Amazon lighting, I’m sure at their price point they have RF issues but considering we need to run about 15 - 4" or 7-8 8’ fixtures, not a small cost.

Cheers and thanks!
Alan

1 Like

My entire shop has LED lighting and I have never noticed any strange events affecting my longmill.
I also have a laser enclosure that is lit with with LEDs and they are within 20 inches of the steppers and I have had no problems there either.
The question is, do or can cheap LED lights cause a problem?
Good luck.

1 Like

@exwhyzee Hey Alan, I have a good quality LED shop lights and have not had a problem. I don’t get kick backs from these folks, but really enjoyed their exceptional customer service and very good product. I encourage you to have a look. They even helped me with a layout for appropriate lighting at no charge. https://www.primelights.com

Not the cheapest lights, but a very good product.
Jake

1 Like

Thanks @MikeH. Yes, the “cost effective hahaha” lighting CAN give off enough RF to interfere with even a garage door opener remote… at least that is what one of the thousands of reviews said. That said, the thousands of positive reviews do tend to counterbalance.