Longmill seems to be a no-brainer. Or am I wrong?

I am fairly new to CNC. I do have a small CNC engraver and was looking for a larger one. I was just about to order a Shapeoko 4 when I discovered that the resolution was 40s/mm! The Longmill is 200s/mm (with 1/8 micro) . It is also about $600 less expensive. My small cnc is primarily used for PCB prototyping. The 40s/mm doesn’t cut it. The 200s/mm should be just fine. Is it a no brainer, or am I missing something?

Jim

1 Like

You’re not missing anything. Enjoy.

2 Likes

@jelanier I’m with @megistus / Wayne, James. You are not missing anything. The Long Mill cannot be beat in value for cost. Add to that excellent after sales support and a great group here and you can’t go wrong.

2 Likes

How long does it take to assemble the product? The build instructions look intensive and difficult (granted that is hard to evaluate without holding parts in you hand)

Pre-build your 4’ x 4‘ table. And allow two days to assemble, take your time with it. It all works out in the end.

2 Likes

OK. I’m trusting you :slight_smile:
I ordered it with all the bells and whistles

Jim

5 Likes

Awesome choice! A couple of things to keep in mind, the USB that I received was intermittently faulty so I purchased a high quality one from Staples. Make sure to keep Windows updates… Up to date. I love my long mill so far, the massive pricetag for the other machines sent worth it. I built my table 7ft x4ft and I have lots of room. Good luck
And keep your rails clean.

A good call. I was initially nervous about the build process too… (110 pages!!!) Being a creative type rather than engineering inclined, I had concerns - I must have read the assembly manual at least twice in full before making my purchase.

I can honestly say that the assembly manual is accurate, well written in unambiguous language, and well illustrated- to wit, superbly done.