Looking for software

Hi, I haven’t received my longmill yet, but was just wondering what people are using for their design software with gsender? I’m new to CNC and am looking for an easy to use free software. Thanks

hello

When I order my longmill I downloaded the trial versions of Vectric vcarve and vcarve pro. I couldn’t really do anything besides following tutorials on youtube but it did help me get a little familiar with the terms. You also have Easel which is very user friendly.

After I played with all of those I ended up getting Carveco and had to learn the vocabulary all over again.

Free Trial Comparision | Vectric

Easel | Free CNC Software | Inventables

CAMLab (sienci.com)

You can also try sienci’s software wizard
Choosing Software :control_knobs: - LongMill CNC (sienci.com)

Thanks, I’ve been playing around with carbide create and seems pretty good. But just wonder what others are using.

2 Likes

I forgot all about carbide create and camlab.

I really like carveco maker, once I learned a bit more about what I’m doing but I hate paying a mothly fee for it. I may be switching over to vcarve soon, IDK

I have been using (I am a nubee) Vcarve, and like it. Garrett on u-tube is an excellent instructor. Just my $.02 cents worth. Check out the following video:

1 Like

I’ve been using Carbide Create (free) for vcarving and 2D stuff, good option for getting your bearings. Camlab or Kiri:Moto for 3d stuff.

I’ve been playing around with carbide create and vcarve. These 2 seem to be the most recommended.

I am using Fusion 360, but thinking of expanding out for something that can do flat bottomed v-carves.

@drrkdrrk VCarve Desktop and Pro can both do flat bottom v-carves.

1 Like

I use SOLIDWORKS for design, a little overkill for simple stuff, but for crazy stuff it’s the best. I use Fusion 360 for programming, very intimidating, but well worth it for the ultimate tool path control. Fusion will also do almost everything SOLIDWORKS does for design…almost.