Material hold down techniques

I have never used hot glue before. How hard is the glue once it has set? When I am milling an edge that I cannot get to without sticking it down, I use 3M painter’s tape and a heavy duty CA glue. I have some video clips of squaring edges using a couple of methods (ignore the MDF). I calculate the depth and add a fraction for the tape so that the cutter is not blunted by the paper tape. I have also used a method where the tape is not applied right to the edge of the workpiece to leave a space for the cutter flutes.

Chip load, chip thinning, cooling and heat transfer is one way to get consistent results. You can amass
decent amounts of date but I have found that many different types of wood create a different situation and the whole testing setup has to be run through again. For example, when I cut walnut, I know that I am going to get a lot of chips, all similar size, and finding a good traversal speed can be a nightmare, because I am not getting a consistent chip size of 0.001 ~ 0.003".

This mandates a return to seat of pants milling. How does the cutter sound, what is the finished surface looking like, what is the cutter heat? I also use a mechanical sympathy method in conjunction. When the cutter engages with the workpiece, If I note (or feel) a slight rise in the X rail at the point of engagement, I reduce the speed of cut and or the percentage of cutter engagement.

@jepho in your second video for squaring, after you get your MDF secured, I would put a 3/4" long fillet, 2 places each side on the Y (north and south, up and down) of that and it will not move. The glue sets up in a couple of minutes, cool to the touch. I use an arrow GT11 mini gun from the blue box, also available on Amazon and mini glue sticks. I use whatever is handy to cut a slice through the glue to remove the part and the Stanley Scraper model 0-28-590 to remove the glue from the spoil board. Works with anything wood but have not tried it with aluminum yet…