New tapered ball nose speed and feeds

I have some questions about your tapered ball once cutters. 1. What is the side angle? 2. What is the tip diameter? 3. What would you suggest for the step over ? 4. Suggestions for the feed rate and plunge rate and spindle speed? I’m new to using a cnc so any sugestions would help

1 Like

Side angle on mine are from 3.92 to 4.82 degrees. Tip can vary. Again I have tapered 1/4 in shank but tip from .5 mm at 4.82 degree, 1 mm at 3.92 and 2 mm at 3.92. They can go much higher with varying sharp angles. I haven’t done any 3D carving yet so not up on feeds and speeds. Hope this little bit helps. I got mine off of Amazon for around $16 US before Sienci started carrying them. All 3 are tungsten carbide. I bought these for fine 3D carving. You can get them obviously larger for less resolution or roughing.

Thanks for the info that helps a little

I believe that the angle on the Sienci 1/8" tapered ball nose bits is 5.1°. I got that from looking at bits with the same dimensions on Aliexpress. The tip diameter, per Sienci, is .5mm or.0197". I’ve just received mine, but since I will be using them for fine finishing, I’ve set the stepover in VCarvePro to 8% or .0016". That is the same stepover that use for 1/8" ball nose bits and I have had good results with it. YMMV.
I’ll let more experienced users chime in for feeds and speeds.

edit: 5mm corrected to .5mm, as per Heyward