Purchasing software

Hello everyone, I have decided to purchase the longmill 30 x 30. My first question is about software. I do have knowledge using Illustrator and Lightburn for sending files to my laser. Just curious about what others have done when purchasing the software. Do most use the free software to get an understanding of it and then upgrade? I pretty sure my starting projects will be simple ones. Second , I plan on purchasing the dust boot. What other add- ons are a most? Any suggestions would greatly be appreciated. Thanks Mike

I did a monthly subscription to Carbide for two months until I was comfortable with the process. After that I bought Vectric Vcarve

In retrospect, I should have bought Vcarve right up front.

1 Like

Thanks Greg, what bits did you start out with?

It really depends what projects you have in mind.

I started with the Sienci starter kit, but based on my type of projects I quickly bought new high quality 1/4 inch DC and UC mills, a roundover bit, 30V and 60V bits and a high quality surfacing bit. I have got some others along the way (I have only been at.this game for 9mths) but I use the theost along with the Sienci 1/8th and 1/16th DC. (Buy packs of these from Sienci…if you are like me, you will go through these at a high rate initially.

As for the project mix those bits work for, I have done some clocks and napkins holders with inlays (both wood and epoxy), the inevitable cutting boards and signs we all make. (End mills, roundovers and V Bits )

However the biggest benefit I have is for furniture making. What a pleasure to be able to cut super accurate dados with rounded ends anywhere on the surface and perfectly profiled table legs and bench tops. Surfacing, 1/4 and 1/8 endmills and roundover bits are the ones that come out most often for that.

Other add-ons…shop vac and cyclone bucket are a must. And after a while I bought an switch to turn the vac on/,off automatically and that was a god-send.