Sealing/painting approach for painted signs?

Hi all,

I’m new to wood working, since my background is software with a few years as a decorative blacksmith (my wife is actually the wood worker in the family). I plan on making some signs from MDF that will have an overall color and a different color in the carved text. From my YouTubing, it looks like the approach I should be taking is roughly this:

• 2 coats of sealer, probably spray shellac, and sanded.
  • 2 coats of spray paint for the overall color, sanded
  • Mask with Oracal 531.
  • Cut the text/images.
  • Spray at least 1 coat of sealer into the carved portions so color doesn’t bleed
  • Spray 2 coats of contrasting color into cut areas. If multiple colors, seal off areas with painters tape between colors.
  • Remove mask
  • 2 coats of final sealer, sanded.

Does this seem like a reasonable approach? What are your opinions about the sealer and type of paint? I want a fairly high gloss.

Thanks in advance,
Frank

A few years ago, I made some name plates (small signs) using a different CNC machine (now defunct and is being replaced with the Longmill). I started with 1/4" poplar (easy to get at the local big-box store), milled out the shape of the name plate, and milled the edges down so they would slide into the holder we had at work to get a blank. I then sealed the blank using a fairly generic sanding sealer, let it dry, then spray painted black on top of that. Once that had cured, I did a very shallow cut to mill out the signage (name, nickname and a fancy border) to expose the very light colored poplar. Finally, I sprayed a clear polyurethane coat of several layers. The nameplates came out very nice and were quite in demand until my work got rid of nameplates altogether.