Trying for first carve

Hi,

I’m a total newby - trying to do my first carve.

I have my 30x30 Longmill assembled. I installed UGS. I created a small test project and saved it to a .nc file. (that’s “Gcode”, right?) I bought the T-tracks, hold-downs and touch plate. I secure the first piece of pine. I have jogging working in three axes. I put a 1/8" flat endmill with the collet sleeve in the router.

I put the touch plate on the lower left side of the blank. There is a default setting of 10mm for height of touch plate. I measure .580" which is about 14.7mm. Do I put 15 in that field?

I jog the bit to about a quarter inch above the touch plate and inside the corner on the X and Y axes. I find the Probe Module plugin. I click “Initiate Probe”. Then the router moves up, not down, and throws an error after moving a bit more than a half inch.

Do I have my z Motor wired backwards somehow?

Thanks.

-Mike M

P.S. Here’s a pic which might help:

What happens if your jogging the machine? So does the router goes down when pressing the z- button in UGS?

If it is moving up instead of down, then it is a ‘problem’ of wiring or the grbl setttings (P1).

If its going down as supposed, the problem is somewhere located in the touchplate settings (P2)

(P1): Cables of the z-motor could be permuted (check the color order of the z-cabels) or the grbl setting $3 could be wrong (think it should be 5).

(P2): Carefully check all probe settings provided within the installation instructions.

Thanks JHahn for the quick reply.

Yes, z- sends the router down.

I found the setting Probe Module => Z => Probe Distance/Direction. That setting was at 10, so I tried -10. Now when I click Initiate Probe, the router goes down.