What other items will I need when my MK2 arrives?

Greetings!

As I posted in another thread, I pre-purchased a MK2 30x30 and am awaiting the shipment. With that said, I am wondering what else I will need to get up and carving?

I have my plans for my workbench at 48”x60”, design software Vectric VCarve Pro and either an inexpensive Windows based laptop or my 2020 MacBook Pro running boot camp. I have a dust collector, although will need to go from a 4” hose to a 2” hose and include a grounding wire inside the hose.

Here is my order:
LongMill MK2 30x30
Router Mount
65mm (Makita Router)
Makita 1.25HP Router
End Mill Starter Set
Touch Plate
LongMill MK2 Magnetic Dust Shoe
LongMill MK2 Lead Screw Dust Shield
Inductive Sensor Kit for the LongMill MK2

I appreciate any suggestions for other items that maybe needed. I am totally new to the whole CNC world and can use all the advice I can get.

Thank you!

Jake

Jake, I’m a new Longmiller (MkI30X30), and think you’re on the right track.
The software end of things is my greatest challenge. I am using VectricVCarve Pro for my CAD and gSender to generate the g-code. If you’re not yet familiar with the software end of things, you may wish to invest time now while waiting for your kit to arrive in learning how to effectively use those apps. One YouTube channel that helps with understanding Vectric VCarve is Garrette Fromme of IDC Woodcraft: https://www.youtube.com/c/IDCWoodcraft

Good luck with everything, and welcome to the Sienci Labs community. Don’t be shy about asking questions here.

Marty from Kingston, ON, Canada

2 Likes

@Jake As Marty said, Jake, you are on the right track.

I would add to your list of bits:

a spoil board surfacing bit
a 1/8" collet for the Makita (it is a much better option than the adaptor
a 60° V bit
a 90° V bit
a 30° V bit

All these bits/parts are available from Sienci.