Won't quite cut round

I put my LongMill together almost two weeks ago and for the most part it seems to be working fine for a couple of simple signs and such. As I’ve really started to look at the cuts though I’m starting to realize it does not quite cut round, or arcs.

The one photo below shows the start of a pocket cut gor a 5 inch round box using a 1/4 inch downcut bit (2 flute) as sold by Sience. I had been cutting this piece of hardwood using a feed rate of 60.0 inches and a plunge rate of 12 inches. The other photo shows a cut that was further along with the same settings. Both have the issue at the same point of the circle. The notch/ bump on the lower left for both pics is where the bit track out gor the next curcular cut.

I’m new to the Long Mill and I’ve checked the tightness of everything I can think of. Maybe something is too tight? I’ve also noticed that when moving the gantry forward along the Y it seems to have a bit of a studder step where both ends of the X axis seem to move separately…just a fraction at a time.

Any suggestions where I should start troubleshooting?

Wow, that looks terrible. It looks like the problem occurs just before the maximum and minimum X or Y travel, depending on how the piece was mounted on the machine. That should be a clue. I would try the cut in free air or maybe foam to see if the same thing happens with no load on the bit. I see ridges that suggest there is slop in the movement but other than that I don’t have much to suggest.

This is just a guess but have you checked the coupler set screws?

They were mounted more or less as shown in the pics. Using the clock, the distortion was between 1 and 2 with the corresponding distortion between 7 and 8. Ill give those things a look though.