X Carve Questions

Hi team!

I’m new to CNC in general, but very new to gSender. I’m using an older (2020) X Carve 750x750 with Vectric Vcarve for my CAD/CAM software.

No problems so far with saving gcode and running on gSender - it seems to really work great, and I love the visualizer!

That said, a couple of newbie questions:

• Where do I find the often mentioned machine profiles/pre-sets and where do install those?
  • Can I follow the same instructions in the documentation for gSender to enable homing switches, or are those instructions specific to the Longmill CNC?

Thanks!

Welcome to the group Tim!

I think the machine profiles are just in the firmware settings for flashing firmware. If your machine was working well with another sender you shouldn’t need to flash though.

The gSender documentation isn’t LongMill specific. You can enable homing, hard and soft limits in gSender’s firmware tool. That said if you had that stuff set up in your last sender it should still be set up as those settings are saved on your control board.

If you do need to set up switches then there are two scenarios. Either you have one switch per axis or two per axis, one on each end. I’m not sure how the XCarve is set up in regards to the number of switches. Anyway if you have two switches per axis you need to have homing and hard limits enabled. If, on the other hand, you only have one switch per axis then you need to enable homing, hard and soft limits. You also need to set the machine dimensions in the firmware for soft limits to work.

Relevant firmware settings are:
20 - Soft limits enable
21 - Hard limits enable
22 - Homing cycle enable
23 - Homing direction invert (use this if an axis homes the wrong way)
130 - X-axis maximum travel
131 - Y-axis maximum travel
132 - Z-axis maximum travel

Hope this is helpful and welcome again.

Ok awesome - I’ll work on the homing limits.