Y axis Skewing badly at higher speeds

Hello everyone,

I have just bought my Longmill mk1, I bought it preowned. The previous owner had changed out the board for a mach3 but gave me all the original parts.

As I’m very new to the CNC world I wanted to keep it simple and use all the original parts so followed the assembly instructions.

My issue seems to be when my machine is running too fast. I am using Gsender, on normal and precise the machine runs smoothly, when in “rapid” (4000mm/min) it skews badly, makes some horrible noises and crashes. The same happens when I run a job.

I have restored the firmware to default on gsender but I still have the problem. I’m using Carbide Create to build my guide.

I don’t think there is any issue with the construction as it runs smoothly at slower speeds and have checked the obvious (leadscrew, squareness, delrin and bearings)

Thanks in advance for any help, this community has already been an amazing resource

@Marchant232 Welcome to the group, Chris. Unfortunately, I don’t have an instant solution to your problem, but I expect that others here will. You’ve already looked into the usual suspects, so I admit to being at a loss. Since you can run at lower speeds, continue to do that and have fun. With luck, someone will chime in with an answer.

Thinking while typing, I have one question: is it always the same Y axis that is “slow”? If so, try reversing the plugs on the long mill controller. Is the same axis the slow one, or does the slow one change to the other y axis?

Hi

Did the previous owner change the stepper motors that you know of?

Have you verified that eeprom settings match Sienci’s current settings?

2 Likes

Does anyone run the LM with G0 at 4000mm/min? :thinking:
I think I altered the maximum values to 3000mm/min.

1 Like