Xy axis changing during project

Im brand new to cnc world… I’ve only done a few small things where I’ve used only one bit now Im doing a two tool project with raised lettering and raised border … the first pass goes as planned cutting the letter edges out and then the pause to change from 1/8 to 1/4 to cutv out all the material in the pocket. I try to be careful changing the bit and zeroing out the z axis… then hit Resume… after two failed attempts with it obviuosly shift ing xy zero… which i blamed on myself. The third attempt the cutting resumed what seemed like correctly but after 10 mins it finished an area lifted to go to new area to pocket out and it has moved the x axis about 1/2 inch and starts to cut the letters… any suggestions? After the pause should i use the auto touchplate and rezero everything?

Hi @curtw40 - the most likely thing I can think of there is a loose x axis coupler - so the motor sometimes spins, but the connection to the lead screw slips. It’s an easy fix - just tighten the coupler nut.

The only other thought is that you might be stalling the motor on the cut - but that’s quite unlikely unless you are really trying to remove a lot of material - you would definitely hear the router struggling.

Let us know what you find!

Ok like i said im brand new to cnc …i took you advice… the connectors seemed tight…BUT i notice when moving my router back and forth on the x axis when close to middle of machine it starts to work… like something is binding… and accually stops the machine.
Tried a zero reset and moved it around to it made the binding noise again and it stopped… ash’s i could see the x axis numbers still moving. I believe that’s the problem obviuosly but how does one stop the binding?

I had the same problem and found that I had the couplers to tight. I let them off a bit and all was good, good luck, bob